H&L magazine, editor receive PHA Media Award

Recipients cited for helping in CPR-Ready Philippines, 52-100 and other healthy lifestyle campaigns

Health and Lifestyle (H&L) magazine and Mylene Orillo, H&L assistant editor, along with 25 media personalities, received plaques of recognition in the Media Award given by the Philippine Heart Association (PHA) on June 23, 2016 at the Annabel’s Restaurant in Tomas Morato, Quezon City.

The PHA Media Awards were in recognition of the remarkable role played by the various media partners of the association in the dissemination of the PHA CPR-Ready Philippines and 52-100 Healthy Lifestyle Campaigns; and their constant commitment to serve as a dynamic vehicle of the PHA Mission and battle cry.

Present during the awarding ceremony were Dr. Alex J. Junia, PHA President; Dr. Francis Lavapie, chair, PHA Council on CPR; Dr. Ella Cecilia G. Naliponguit of Health and Nutrition Center, Department of Education, Pasig City; Dr. Gloria J. Balboa of Health Emergency Management Bureau, Department of Health, Manila; Dr. Raul L. Lapitan, PHA President-elect; Dr. Aurelia Leus, PHA Director; and Dr. Orlando R. Bugarin, PHA Director/Chair, Advocacy Committee; and other PHA members.

Last April 25, 2016, PHA has conducted the nationwide mass CPR training campaign on April 25, 2016 to bring CPR to every Filipino home – its advocacy. The campaign, conducted in 109 sites, has gathered 23,000 people who were trained in the hands-only CPR. It was a huge success.

PHA also came out with an instructional CPR video and distributed CPR manikins to the members of the press during the said awarding ceremony and media appreciation party.

TV/radio awardees included:  Nina Corpuz (DzMM Magandang Gabi Dok host and ABS-CBN UKG); Jing Castaneda (ABS-BN TV Patrol and Salamat Dok reporter); Marou Pahati Sarne (DwIZ Radyo Klinika host); Joseph Parafina (PTV 5 reporter); Annabelle Surara (Radyo Agila/Net 25); Susan Enriquez (Easy, Easy Lang host, DzBB); Lala Roque (24 Oras, GMA7 reporter and Easy Easy Lang co-host); Pia Bolanos (CNN Philippines reporter); Izza Reniva Cruz (Metro Sabado host, Radyo 5 TV5); Alex Tinsay (Metro Sabado host and Radyo 5 TV5); and Juvy de Guzman (DwBL host).

Aside from H&L’s Mylene Orillo, other awardees included Patricia Esteves (The Philippine Star, writer/editor); Ramon Tomeldan (Manila Standard editor); Jocelyn Uy (Philippine Daily Inquirer reporter); Jacqueline Arias (The Manila Times, reporter); Ares Gutierrez (Cebu Daily News editor; editor/writer, The Manila Times, GMA7); Charina Charisse Echaluce (Manila Bulletin); Lindao Bohol (Dyaryo Pinoy); Leilani Junio and Filane Cervantes (Philippine News Agency reporters); Health & Lifestyle (H&L) magazine, DzMM Magandang Gabi Dok, DwIZ Radyo Klinika, The Daily Tribune, and MedTalk CNN Philippines.

Published by Mylene Orillo

Mylene Orillo is a contributing writer at My Pope Philippines. Prior to that, she contributed to the Health & Lifestyle magazine.  She's a former correspondent at The Manila Times; former editor-in-chief of TravelPlus magazine; and former assistant editor of Health & Lifestyle, Zen Health, and DiabetEASE magazines by FAME Publishing, Inc., a company owned by cardiologist Dr. Rafael Castillo who has given her the much-needed break and opportunity in the health industry and medical field.  Her previous job as a Media Consultant at the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office and Writer-Researcher at the Headquarters Philippine Army ignited her passions for charity, volunteering, selfless service, and love of country. As a young girl, she loved reading her mom's collection of Mills & Boons pocketbooks, which started her passion to write romance stories.  She has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of Sto. Tomas in España, Manila. She is now working towards earning her master's degree hopefully this year. She loves traveling, long-distance running, reading romance and non-fiction books, watching Korean Drama series, feel-good rom coms, military movies, and documentaries during her spare time. Someday, she wants to meet Prince William and Pope Francis, settle down with the love of her life and have a family and kids of her own; and become a bestselling romance author.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: